How I Became a Famous Novelist

Editor’s note: I was recently asked to join Book Bloggers on Facebook. Although I am a book addict, I was intimidated because they have some very talented bloggers. I have reviewed books professionally, however I was given books to review before they were released, the way I thought it was supposed to be done. But the Internet is a brave new world where everyone has an opinion that they are encouraged to share. I was told to review whatever I happened to be reading. That connection brought the attention of Book Addicts Anonymous also on Facebook. They too asked me to join. Their reviews could be pithy sentences which seemed doable so I joined and even volunteered to be on the board where my name is now listed. Backcountry Writer has taken an unexpected turn, but this is great reading country, so here is the first review.

How I Became a Famous Novelist by Steve Heley is a hilarious, cocky and self-deprecating look at the world of the rich and famous novelist Pete Tarslau hopes to become. Think Clerks meets Office Space.

A bright slacker seeks fame and fortune and an opportunity to humiliate his ex-girlfriend on her wedding day by writing the next best seller. He decides literary fiction is the easiest route–“a lot of words slathered on suggesting some profound wisdom hidden within.”

Can a mansion by the sea and an endless supply of supple college girls be far behind? It apparently is as easy and calculated as it sounds because the movie is coming out in 2012 and I can’t wait to see it.

1 Comment

Filed under On writing

One response to “How I Became a Famous Novelist

  1. Haven’t read this book yet but after reading the review I’m going to read it. Especially since I’ve seen the movie Office Space so many times and I’d like to read a funny book about this topic.

Leave a Reply

